The Study of Communication

andes

“To effectively communicate, we must realize that we are all different in the way we perceive the world and use this understanding as a guide to our communication with others.”- Tony Robbins

I like this quote and thought it was very fitting for the chapter that we are studying this week in regard to the seven traditions of inquiry. These traditions are: semiotic, phenomenological, cybernetic. sociopsychological, sociocultural critical, and rhetorical. In studying these traditions, it enlightened me to various subjects and topics that communication scholars study and how these traditions can overlap. Because the communication field is so wide-ranging and extensive, there are many research areas that can be explored. Some of these topics include but are not limited to:

  • Social Media and Mobile Technology
  • Advertising and Marketing
  • Media Relations and Public Relations
  • Culture and Society
  • Feminist Studies
  • Relationships and Families
  • Systems and Networks
  • Conversations and Messages
  • Communication Theories and Traditions
  • Rhetorics and Semiotics
  • Language and Non-Verbal Cues
  • Social Interaction and Behavior

Out of this list, the research topics that interest me the most are social media and mobile technology as well as media relations and public relations.  As I stated in my first post I am drawn in and to social media, and I like the way the technology is changing rapidly. It has become a cultural phenomenon while being an effective and fun way to communicate.  It will be interesting to see what social platforms we have in 5-10 years. Also I have always had a fascination with celebrities and the way that they live and communicate with the public, hence my interest in media and public relations.

While these are the communication topics that I am looking forward to examining and studying, for my first research paper I decided to go a different route. Our research project for this class is to show how films provide “equipment for living”. In other words, how films affect you in life and guide your way of living.  The movie I chose and my “equipment for living” explanation is in the next post!

Leave a Reply

