Vlog: Screencast

 

For this week’s assignment , we created a Vlog using Screencast-O-Matic and Powerpoint. The Vlog is a presentation of an scholar, peer reviewed article. I am very familiar with PowerPoint (have been using the program over 10 years) but I am new to Screencast-O -Matic. I enjoyed learning and using Screencast-O-Matic, it was very easy and straightforward to use. I like the fact that I can narrate the PowerPoint without being in the video and the fact that you can pause and record at your convenience. This made it easier to gather my thoughts and I could take my time in the speech without being nervous. I will definitely use Screencast-O-Matic for future presentations!

The article is titled Conceptualizing Beauty: A Content Analysis of U.S. and French Women’s Fashion Magazine Advertisements by Pamela K. Morris and
Katharine Nichols, Loyola University Chicago, USA.

I chose this article because it combines the concepts that interest me : fashion and beauty with communication and advertisement. The article focuses on the difference between US and French ads in beauty magazines. What I found interesting was that in American ads, the woman smile more and the ads focus on  mainly makeup and hair care while the French ads display women in more bizarre roles and focus on mainly on skincare: lotions and perfumes. This shows how American society is more aimed toward the cosmetic idea of beauty. For more information on the topic you can check out my Vlog above!

 

Morris, P. K., & Nichols, K. (2013). Conceptualizing beauty: a content analysis of U.S. and French women’s fashion magazine advertisements. Online Journal Of Communication & Media Technologies3(1), 49-74.

Leave a Reply

